Diversity, Equity, Inclusion and Accessibility (DEIA) Mentorship Award

This newly established award is an initiative of the ASMS Membership, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee. The first awards will be conferred in 2024.

The Diversity, Equity, Inclusion, and Accessibility (DEIA) Mentorship Award will recognize ASMS members who have demonstrated exemplary service in the STEM mentoring and/or recruitment of individuals from groups that are underrepresented in the field of mass spectrometry.

Up to two awards ($1,000 each and a plaque) will be presented at the ASMS Annual Conference. These awards are generously funded by VRS Recruitment.

VRS Recruitment Logo

Eligibility & How To Apply


  • Member of ASMS for at least 2 years and conference attendance for at least 2 out of the 5 past years
  • History of mentoring and/or recruiting undergraduate, graduate, postdocs, and/or early-career individuals from underrepresented groups in STEM
  • Open to scientists from all career sectors and career stages 

How to Apply
First, complete and submit the online application. Second, insure that required letters are sent by email. Award application is not considered complete until required letters are received by Letters must be received by November 30 deadline.

Elements and Information needed for the online application form:

  • DEIA Mentoring Philosophy and Impact Statement (1 page max). To be uploaded as PDF. 
    Highlight history of the following:
    • promoting equity and inclusion in STEM;
    • recruiting/mentoring individuals from underrepresented groups in STEM; 
    • creating DEIA STEM policies, procedures, and practices;
    • leading DEIA STEM research
  • List of individuals from underrepresented groups mentored w/ degree & year. To be uploaded as PDF.
  • Curriculum Vitae (CV). To be uploaded as PDF.
  • Support Letters [2 letters of support with historical knowledge of the applicant’s work with at least 1 letter coming from a mentee]. Names and email addresses of letter writers are required fields. Letters will be sent separately to by the letter writers.

Go to Online Award Application