Biemann Medal

The Biemann Medal recognizes significant achievement made in the early stages of a career.

Nominations are due November 30. Nomination Form (PDF fill-in form). The Biemann Medal is awarded to an individual early in his or her career in recognition of significant achievement in basic or applied mass spectrometry. The Biemann Medal was established by contributions from students, postdoctoral associates and friends to honor Professor Klaus Biemann.


  • Nominees must be within the first 15 years of receiving the Ph.D. in the year nomination is considered. This is a general guideline and exceptions will be considered. Exceptions should be requested in the letter of nomination.
  • Eligibility is restricted to members of ASMS.

Nominations are held for three years so long as the date of PhD is still within the eligible range. The award is conferred at the ASMS Annual Conference with the presentation of a $5,000 cash award, the Biemann Medal, and the award lecture.

Sarah Trimpin, 2019 Recipient

Trimpin-YostDr. Sarah Trimpin is the recipient of the 2019 Biemann Medal for discovery and development of novel ionization processes. Dr. Trimpin’s unusual observation of highly charged protein ions in an atmospheric pressure MALDI experiment led to her discovery that ionization occurs simply by passing compounds through the inlet of a mass spectrometer. She demonstrated that this simple approach achieves sensitivity comparable with, and frequently better than, electrospray or MALDI. 

Through fundamental studies, Dr. Trimpin discovered solid matrices that produce highly charged ions upon laser ablation using MALDI ion sources. Even more astonishing is her discovery of matrix compounds that spontaneously produce multiply charged ions when exposed to vacuum (termed matrix-assisted ionization, MAI). No heat, nebulizing gases, laser, or voltage is required and exceptionally low chemical background is achieved for a variety of compounds, including proteins at least as large as bovine serum albumin (66 kDa). She has now discovered more than forty matrices that spontaneously produce analyte ions. Her work has been recognized by numerous awards and has led to commercialization.

Dr. Trimpin is Professor of Chemistry at Wayne State University.