John B. Fenn Distinguished Contribution

John Fenn_opt

The ASMS Award for Distinguished Contribution in Mass Spectrometry has been renamed to honor the memory of John B. Fenn who shared the 2002  Nobel Prize for the development of electrospray Ionization. John joined ASMS in 1986 and remained an active member until his passing in 2010. 

The John B. Fenn Award for a Distinguished Contribution in Mass Spectrometry recognizes a focused or singular achievement in fundamental or applied mass spectrometry in contrast to awards that recognize lifetime  achievement. Eligibility is restricted to members of ASMS. Nominations will be held for three years. The award is conferred at the ASMS Annual Conference with the presentation of a $10,000 cash award, a recognition plaque, and the award lecture.

Nominations are due November 30.  Nomination Form (PDF fill-in form).

John R. Yates III, 2019 Recipient

Dr. John R. Yates III is the recipient of the 2019 ASMS John B. Fenn Award for a Distinguished Contribution in Mass Spectrometry, for development of automated, large-scale interpretation of peptide tandem mass spectral data. Dr. Yates’ SEQUEST algorithm laid a critical foundation for the field of proteomics and has enhanced the accuracy and effectiveness of mass spectrometry to understand important biological and clinical questions.

Subsequent software developments continue to empower molecular and cellular biology research, including peptide and protein quantitation, identification of posttranslational modifications, and the use of DNA sequences to enable proteogenomic methods. Dr. Yates also enabled large-scale studies to identify the components of protein complexes in single celled organisms and mammalian cells. Proteomics is now practiced by thousands of researchers all over the world to study proteins in almost every organelle in prokaryotic and eukaryotic cells. The comprehensive analysis of cells and tissues is now routinely used to understand differences between normal and disease states. 

Dr. Yates is Professor, Department of Molecular Medicine, The Scripps Research Institute.

Yates montage