Research at PUIs Award

This award promotes academic research in mass spectrometry by faculty members and their students at primarily undergraduate institutions (PUIs). The award, in the amount of $20,000, is presented annually and is fully funded by Agilent Technologies.
The deadline to apply is November 30. Scroll down for eligibility and more information on application process.


2023 Research at PUI Award Recipient

Download full 2023 ASMS Awards Announcement  

Erica Jacobs, 2023 Recipient

Erica Jacobs
St. Johns University

Eligibility & How To Apply

Eligibility. Open to full-time academic scientists at a primarily undergraduate North American college or university. Applicants may not have previously received an award under this program. Applicants must be members of ASMS.  Eligible PUIs are accredited colleges and universities that award Bachelor's degrees and/or Master's degrees but have awarded no more than 20 PhD/DSci degrees in the sciences during the combined previous two academic years. This is a general guideline and exceptions will be considered. Exceptions should be addressed in the online application.

Fiscal Requirements for Award Winners. The award of $20,000 will be made to a college or university in the name of the selected individual and for the selected individual’s exclusive use. In accepting this award, the institution will agree not to charge overhead on the funds.  

First, complete and submit the online application. Second, insure that required letters are sent by email. Applicant's dossier is not considered complete until required letters are received by info [at] asms [dot] org. Letters must be received by November 30 deadline.

Deadline for complete dossiers is November 30. 

Items Needed for Online Application

  • Fiscal proposal and justification (one-page)
  • List of current research support
  • Proposal including references, figures, etc. that demonstrates the use of mass spectrometry and participation of undergraduate students (three pages max.)
  • Curriculum vitae
  • Two letters of support (provide the name and email of letter writers). Actual letters to be submitted directly to info [at] asms [dot] org.

Past Recipients

2022: Mac Gilliland (Furman University)

2021: Christopher Mulligan (Illinois State University)

2020: Christine Hughey (James Madison University)

2019: Callie Cole (Fort Lewis University)