About ASMS


ASMS Committees are in most cases recommended by the current committee members, approved by the Board, and appointed by the President. The committees oversee specific functions of the society. Committee terms of two years are staggered. Face-to-face committee meetings are scheduled at the annual conference. If you have an interest in serving on a committee, please contact a current committee member or the President to express your interest. New members are appointed each year.

Asilomar Conference Committee

Jason Hogan 
(Bristol-Myers-Squibb), Past Chair, term ends 6/30/2023
John Bowden (University of Florida), Chair, term ends 6/30/2024
Laura Sanchez (UC Santa Cruz), Chair-Elect, term ends 6/30/2025
Susan Richardson (University of South Carolina), ASMS Board Past President, term ends 6/30/2024

Learn about the Asilomar Conference Committee duties and responsibilities.

Award Selection Committees

The Award Selection Committees are anonymous and are appointed by the President of ASMS.  Learn about duties and responsibilities of the Awards Committees.

Corporate Liaison Committee

Michael Easterling (Bruker), Chair, ASMS Vice-President Arrangements, term ends 6/30/2023
Jeremy Cook (MOBILion Systems), term ends 6/30/2024
Angie Jinks (Thermo Fisher Scientific), term ends 6/30/2023
Melanie Juba (SCIEX), term ends 6/30/2023
Lance Nicolaysen (Waters Corporation), term ends 6/30/2024
Bruce Peat (Peak Scientific), terms ends 6/30/2023
St John Skilton (Protein Metrics), term ends 6/30/2023

Learn more about the Corporate Liaison Committee duties and responsibilities.

Membership, Diversity & Inclusion Committee

Candice Ulmer (USDA-FSIS), Chair, ASMS Board Member-at-Large for Membership, term ends 6/30/2024
Saiful Chowdhury (University of Texas at Arlington), term ends 6/30/2023
Dominic Gostick (SCIEX), term ends 6/30/2023
Hee-Yong Kim (NIH), term ends 6/30/2024
Baljit Ubhi (MOBILion),  term ends 6/30/2024

Learn about the Membership, Diversity & Inclusion Committee duties and responsibilities. Check out resources available from the committee.

Education Committee

Livia Eberlin (Baylor College of Medicine), Chair, ASMS Board Member-at-Large for Education, term ends 6/30/2024
Joseph Eschweiler (Abbvie), term ends 6/30/2023
Stacy Malaker (Yale University), term ends 6/30/2024
Lisa O'Callaghan 
(Merck), term ends 6/30/2023
Ian Webb (IUPUI), term ends 6/30/2024

Learn about the Education Committee duties and responsibilities.

History Committee

P. Jane Gale, Chair, ASMS Archivist/Historian
Catherine Fenselau (retired University of Maryland College Park), term ends 6/30/2024
Michael Grayson (retired Washington University St. Louis), ex officio
David Herold
(UCSD), term ends 6/30/2024
Asher Newsome (Smithsonian Institute), term ends 6/30/2023
Magnus Palmblad (Leiden University), term ends 6/30/2023

Learn more about the History Committee duties and responsibilities.

Nominating Committee

Jennifer Brodbelt (University of Texas, Austin), Chair, term ends 6/30/2023
Peggi Angel (Medical University of South Carolina), term ends 6/30/2024
Tarun Anumol
(Agilent), term ends 6/30/23
Abraham Badu-Tawiah (The Ohio State University), term ends 6/30/2024
Touradj Solouki (Baylor University), term ends 6/30/2023

Learn about the Nominating Committee duties and responsibilities.

Publications Committee

Stephen Valentine, Chair, ASMS Member-at-Large for Publications, term ends 6/30/2023
Joe Cannon (Bristol Myers Squibb), term ends 6/30/2024
Vanessa Phelan (University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus), term ends 6/30/2022
Stefani Thomas (University of Minnesota), term ends 6/30/2024
Mowei Zhou (PNNL), term ends 6/30/2023
Vicki Wysocki (The Ohio State University), JASMS Editor-in-Chief, ex officio

Learn about the Publications Committee duties and responsibilities.

Sanibel Conference Committee

Lissa Anderson (NHMFL), Chair, committee term ends 6/30/2022
Richard Rogers (Juno Therapeutics, A BMS Company), Chair, term ends 6/30/2023
Xiuxia Du (University of North Carolina, Charlotte), Chair-Elect, term ends 6/30/2024
Sarah Rogstad (US FDA), Member, term ends 6/30/2025
Sharon Pitteri (Stanford University), ASMS Treasurer and Board Liaison, term ends 6/30/2024

Learn about the Sanibel Conference duties and responsibilities.

Digital Communications Committee

Chris Chouinard (Clemson University), term ends 6/30/2024
Susan Richardson (University of South Carolina), ASMS President and Board liaison, term ends 6/30/2024
Birgit Schilling (The Buck Institute), Chair, term ends 6/30/2023
Lauren Stopfer (BioNTech), term ends 6/30/2024
Thomas Wales (Northeastern University), term ends 6/30/2023

Learn about the Digital Communications Committee duties and responsibilities.