Ron Hites Award

Stephen J. Valentine, 2020 Recipient of the Ron Hites Award

Hites-ValentineThe 2020 Ron Hites Award recognizes Dr. Stephen J. Valentine, West Virginia University and co-authors for their paper Comprehensive Peptide Ion Structure Studies Using Ion Mobility Techniques: Part 3. Relating Solution-Phase to Gas-Phase Structures; Samaneh Ghassabi Kondalaji, Mahdiar Khakinejad, and Stephen J. Valentine; J. Am. Soc. Mass Spectrom. (2018) 29:1665-1677.

The Ron Hites Award recognizes annually an exemplary paper published in the previous two volumes of the Journal of the American Society for Mass Spectrometry (JASMS). The award recognizes a high quality presentation of outstanding original research. The award is named in honor of Professor Ron Hites of Indiana University, who led the creation of JASMS in 1988 while serving as president of ASMS.

The winning manuscript is selected by a confidential committee. Selection is based on the committee's judgement of each paper’s innovative aspects, technical quality, likely stimulation of future research, likely impact on future applications, and quality of presentation. Manuscript citations and impact factor may also be considered but are not the major determinants of selection.

The principal author receives a cash award of $2,000 and all authors are acknowledged with certificates of commendation.

Eligible papers for the 2020 Award should have been published in 2018 or 2019. Manuscripts that include the Editor-in-chief or Associate editors as co-authors are not eligible.

Nomination Instructions

Complete and submit the online nomination by the November 30 deadline.

Deadline to apply is November 30.

Past Recipients of the Ron Hites Award

2018: Peter B. Armentrout, University of Utah and co-authors John E. Carpenter, Christopher P. McNary, April Furi, Andrew F. Sweeney; Department of Chemistry, University of Utah, Salt Lake City, UTJASMS Vol. 28, Sept 2017, pp. 1876-1888, DOI 10.1007/s13361-017-1693-0.

2017: Thomas Rizzo, École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne and co-authors Antoine Masson1, Michael Z. Kamrath1, Marta A. S. Perez1, Matthew S. Glover (pictured on left)2, U. Röthlisberger1, David E. Clemmer2, Thomas R. Rizzo11École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, 2Indiana University; JASMS 2015, 26, 1444-1454

2016: Kevin Pagel, Max Plank Society Berlin, and co-authors Johanna Hofmann and Waldemar Hoffmann for their paper Energy-Resolved Ion Mobility-Mass Spectrometry, JASMS 2014, 25, 471-479.

2015: John Klassen, University of Alberta, and, co-authors Lan Liu, Alyson Baergen, Klaus Michelsen, Elena N. Kitova, and Paul D. Schnier; for their paper Energetics of Intermolecular Hydrogen Bonds in a Hydrophobic Cavity: JASMS, 2014, 25, 742-750.

2014:  Evan R. Williams, Harry J. Sterling; Alexander F. Kintzer; Geoffrey K. Feld; Catherine A. Cassou; Bryan A. Krantz; for their paper Supercharging Protein Complexes from Aqueous Solution Disrupts their Native Conformations; JASMS 2012, vol. 23, pages 191 – 200.

2013:  Gary M. Hieftje, Alexander W. G. Graham, Steven J. Ray, Christie G. Enke, Charles J. Barinaga, David W. Koppenaal; "First Distance-of-Flight Instrument: Opening a New Paradigm in Mass Spectrometry;" J Am Soc Mass Spectrom 2011, 22, 110-117.

2012:  Hao Chen, Shiyong Wu, and Zhixin Miao; Ohio University; "The Study of Protein Conformation in Solution via Direct Sampling by Desorption Electrospray Ionization Mass Spectrometry;" J Am Soc Mass Spectrom 2010, 21, 1730 - 1736.

2011:  Scott A. McLuckey, T. –Y. Huang, T.-Y., and J. Liu; Purdue University; “Top-Down Tandem Mass Spectrometry of tRNA via Ion Trap Collision-induced Dissociation;” JASMS 2010, Vol. 21(6), 890-898.

2010:  Facundo Fernandez, Leonard Nyadong, Sameer Late, Michael D. Grren, and Ajay Banga; Georgia Institute of Technology; “Direct Quantitation of Active Ingredients in Solid Artesunate Antimalarials by Noncovalent Complex Forming Reactive Desorption Electrospray Ionization Mass Spectrometry;” JASMS 2008, Vol. 19, 380-388.

2009:  Alison E. Ashcroft, David P. Smith, Kevin Giles, Robert H. Bateman, and Sheena E. Radford; Leeds University; “Monitoring Copopulated Conformational States during Protein Folding Events Using Electrospray Ionization-Ion Mobility Spectrometry-Mass Spectrometry;” JASMS 2007, 18, 2180-2190.